Collection

Options de d'affichage

Résultats 1 - 40 sur 154 au total

Résultats de la recherche

  • Resilience

    Resilience

    An inspiring book for readers of Sheryl Sandberg and Arlene Dickinson Lisa Lisson’s life seemed perfect: she had married her high school sweetheart, applied her marketing degree to a position at F...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 4,95 Mo

    7 exemplaires disponibles
  • Jacob Isaac Segal

    Jacob Isaac Segal

    Born in the Ukraine in 1896, and settling in Montreal in 1910, Segal became one of the first Yiddish writers in Canada. His poetry, infused with lyricism and mysticism, along with the numerous essa...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 18 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Gratoony the Loony

    Gratoony the Loony

    One of hockey’s most colourful characters, from hockey’s most colourful era, tells all Gilles Gratton was not a typical pro hockey player. He refused to don his equipment and man his net if the pl...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 5,54 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Best Canadian Sports Writing

    Best Canadian Sports Writing

    38 pieces that will be remembered for seasons to come For 25 years, sports journalists south of the border have been collected in best-of anthologies. With Best Canadian Sports Writing, editors St...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 2,91 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • In Search of A Better World

    In Search of A Better World

    A work of memoir, history, and a call to action, In Search of a Better World, the 2017 CBC Massey Lecture, is a powerful and essential work on the major human rights struggles of our times. In Feb...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 573 Ko

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Head of Drama

    Head of Drama

    The memoir of the creator of Doctor Who and a legend in British and Canadian TV and film A major influence on the BBC and independent television in Britain in the 1960s, as well as on CBC and the ...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 6,41 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • A Brief History of Oversharing

    A Brief History of Oversharing

    Musings from a “one-man flash mob” (Toronto Star) Comedian Shawn Hitchins explores his irreverent nature in this debut collection of essays. Hitchins doesn’t shy away from his failures or celebrat...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 2,18 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Arrival

    Arrival

    In the mid-twentieth century, Canadian literature transformed from a largely ignored trickle of books into an enormous cultural phenomenon that produced Margaret Atwood, Alice Munro, Michael Ondaat...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 9,94 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Extended Families

    Extended Families

    In Extended Families: A Memoir of India, award-winning author Ven Begamudré traces the history of both sides of his family, telling a story that is both timeless and universal."My grandmother’s hou...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 4,88 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Down Inside

    Down Inside

    Thirty Years in Canada's Prison Service

    A compelling personal memoir and a scathing indictment of bureaucratic indifference and agenda-driven government policies. In his thirty years in the Canadian prison system, Robert Clark rose from...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 532 Ko

    Prochain exemplaire disponible le 27 févr. 2018 à 09:27

  • What Remains

    What Remains

    Being left with a strand of even the highest quality milky-white pearls isn’t quite the same thing as pearls of wisdom to live by, as Karen von Hahn reveals in her memoir about her stylish and capt...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 399 Ko

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Where It Hurts

    Where It Hurts

    Where It Hurts is a highly-charged collection of personal essays, haunted by loss, evoking turbulent physical and emotional Canadian landscapes. Sarah de Leeuw's creative non-fiction captures stran...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    Prochain exemplaire disponible le 2 mars 2018 à 22:00

  • Rhapsody in Quebec

    Rhapsody in Quebec

    Born in Hungary in 1975, Akos Verboczy moved to Montreal, Quebec at the age of 11 with his sister and mother, an esthetician, who learned that in Canada women were willing to pay a fortune ($20) to...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • In the Black

    In the Black

    A remarkable memoir about achieving prosperity in the face of relentless prejudice In the Black traces B. Denham Jolly’s personal and professional struggle for a place in a country where Black Can...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    Prochain exemplaire disponible le 17 mars 2018 à 20:45

  • Director’s Cut

    Director’s Cut

    With six decades in show business, legendary director Ted Kotcheff looks back on his life Born to immigrant parents and raised in the slums of Toronto during the Depression, Ted Kotcheff learned s...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Careergasm

    Careergasm

    Rousing, bullsh*t-free advice for aspiring career changers What is a careergasm? Does it feel as good as it sounds? You bet your ass it does. A Careergasm happens when your work feels good. Reall...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Firing Lines

    Firing Lines

    Read between the front lines: The stories of three Canadian female journalists stationed in England and France during the First World War. Europe: 1914–18. Mary MacLeod Moore, a writer for Saturda...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 2,35 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Casting Back

    Casting Back

    Covering a span of more than 60 years, these classic fishing essays are brought together for the first time, celebrating the thoughts, pleasures and adventures of a devoted angler and renowned stor...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Surviving Logan

    Surviving Logan

    One mountaineer’s harrowing story of survival and recovery after being trapped on the second-highest peak in North America, Mount Logan in the Yukon Territory, during an extratropical cyclone. In ...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 4,61 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • The Valiant Nellie McClung

    The Valiant Nellie McClung

    Although her name today is synonymous with the women’s suffrage movement in Canada, Nellie McClung’s long and varied career covered several fields—from social activist to elected politician, from n...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Hard Knox

    Hard Knox

    In Hard Knox, seasoned columnist and consummate everyman Jack Knox offers up his uniquely hilarious views on Canadian life as seen from the western fringes of the country—in particular from the “Is...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • John McCrae

    John McCrae

    Most Canadians are familiar with John McCrae through his iconic poem “In Flanders Fields,” which was penned on the battlefields of the First World War and remains a symbol of remembrance to this da...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • One Day as a Tiger

    One Day as a Tiger

    A revelatory and poignant memoir showing mountaineering at its extraordinary best and tragic worst as it draws an unforgettable picture of a dazzling, argumentative and exuberant climbing legend. ...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 5,3 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Surviving the Gulag

    Surviving the Gulag

    “The terrified yell of my comrades makes me stop. I drop the potatoes into the grass and turn around. He has pulled out the pistol and is taking aim. Slowly I come back.” Surviving the Gulag is t...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    2 exemplaires disponibles
  • Fearless as Possible (Under the Circumstances)

    Fearless as Possible (Under the Circumstances)

    2017 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize Finalist In this smart, funny, and inspiring memoir, Donlon chronicles her impressive and storied career, which has put her on the frontlines of the massive changes...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 13,4 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Nilling

    Nilling

    Erin Wunker is a feminist killjoy, and she thinks you should be one, too. Following in the tradition of Sara Ahmed (the originator of the concept of the "feminist killjoy"), Wunker brings memoir, t...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Far and Wide

    Far and Wide

    35 concerts. 17,000 motorcycle miles. Three months. One lifetime. In May 2015, the veteran Canadian rock trio Rush embarked on their 40th anniversary tour, R40. For the band and their fans, R40 wa...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Fun and Games

    Fun and Games

    Find out what it’s like to have “the best job in town” Dave Perkins was once told by a bluntly helpful university admissions officer: “You don’t have the looks for TV or the voice for radio. You s...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Justin Trudeau

    Justin Trudeau

    A National Bestseller • The Hill Times: Best Books of 2016 This unauthorized biography provides a rare look at the real Justin Trudeau, retracing his steps from his early days to the height of po...

    Voir la fiche »

    PDF 3,5 Mo

    Prochain exemplaire disponible le 8 mars 2018 à 21:11

  • The Family that Conquered Everest

    The Family that Conquered Everest

    A fast-paced and engaging story that takes the reader on a remarkable family journey from the flatlands of suburbia to the top of the world. Climbing Mount Everest is one of humanity’s greatest fe...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 23,5 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Bad Singer

    Bad Singer

    Author and journalist Tim Falconer — a self-confessed “bad singer” — is one of only 2.5 percent of the population that has been afflicted with amusia, ie: he is scientifically tone-deaf. Bad Singe...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 1,44 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • In-Between Days

    In-Between Days

    2016 Governor General's Literary Award Finalist Teva Harrison was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer at the age of 37. In this brilliant and inspiring graphic memoir, she documents through co...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB 21,1 Mo

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • The Utility of Boredom

    The Utility of Boredom

    A collection of essays for ardent seamheads and casual baseball fans alike, The Utility of Boredom is a book about finding respite and comfort in the order, traditions, and rituals of baseball. It’...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Baffin Island

    Baffin Island

    A geographer with extensive research experience in the Canadian North, Jack D. Ives has written a lively and informative account of several expeditions to Baffin Island during the “golden age” of f...

    Voir la fiche »

    PDF

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Ice Diaries

    Ice Diaries

    What do we stand to lose in a world without ice? A decade ago, novelist and short story writer Jean McNeil spent a year as writer in residence with the British Antarctic Survey, and four months on ...

    Voir la fiche »

    EPUB

    1 exemplaire disponible
  • Reading Alice Munro, 1973-2013

    Reading Alice Munro, 1973-2013

    In Reading Alice Munro, 1973-2013, the world's leading Munro scholar offers a critical overview of Alice Munro and her writing spanning forty years. Beginning with a newly written overarching intro...

    Voir la fiche »

    PDF

    1 exemplaire disponible